New Order, ticket stub, Meadowlands Arena, New Jersey USA 19th July 1989.

IMG_1837

 

Here’s my ticket stub for New Order at the Meadowlands Arena in New Jersey 1989.

Also playing that night were the Sugar Cubes and Public Image Ltd. Although I don’t really remember that much of the night itself or the other bands! I do remember there being a big crowd and as usual New Order kept everybody waiting. Typically there seemed to be a lot of English people around particularly Northerners!! The Meadowlands Arena was the then home of the New York Giants, American football team and it was a pretty big stadium.

I think it may have been the last night of New Orders twelve week tour of America that year! I can also remember me and my mates travelled there from central Manhattan on public transport and it was a pain to get to as most people seemed to be in cars!

The Happy Mondays were in America at the same time as New Order in the summer of 1989 touring with their album ‘Bummed’. So there was a bit of a Factory Records in America ‘vibe’ going on, I think Tony Wilson/Factory Records also participated in the ‘New Music Seminar’ in NYC around the same time.

Something to listen to and a track that New Order played in their set that night; New Order ‘Blue Monday’.Originally released March 1983 Fac 73 Single.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment